Give Gay Rights a voice in India!


 

 

224853?pfrom=home-topstories

 

 

 

The debate is on.  I feel very close to India and it’s my country of choice. I realize though that with my liberal Western attitude I wouldn’t be loved back with the same enthusiasm. This becomes obvious to me in the discourse of homosexuality, for instance. I am heterosexual but I feel very strongly that one should have the choice to be who you are regarding your sexuality, without repercussions and prosecution unless you are HARMING an individual. I don’t condone pederasts and rapists and the law should protect the individual from these kind of offenders. However to criminalize consensual sexual practices among adults, I don’t think the state has a right to dictate that. Homosexuality exists as long as humanity does. The early cradles of civilization offer a glimpse.  It was practiced in Ancient Greece and Rome and no, those civilizations didn’t collapse because of it, but states getting ahead of themselves thinking they can control the world.

I am trying hard with my blog to stick to Bollywood movies and topics, so please forgive me for occasional transgressions.

I truly hope that the government in India will find it in their hearts to be tolerant towards individuals who don’t fit the mold. I would hope Indian filmmakers come forward and start making statements and give Gay Rights a voice.

 

6 thoughts on “Give Gay Rights a voice in India!

  1. Hi,
    When the Delhi High Court decriminalised homosexuality two years ago, I think In India many of us cried with joy because the struggle to get to that point had been quite uphill. I know the team that worked on the case and I have had the opportunity to see them prepare for the case. And to see that struggle rewarded was such an amazing feeling. But we knew even then that the decision could be challenged in the Supreme Court.

    Its probably not such a bad thing because a positive decision from the Supreme Court has much more weight and will be applicable all over India. The team working on the case is a group of dedicated and very capable professionals so I am thinking that if anyone can make the Supreme Court stay the High Court ruling, they can. Besides, the High Court gave a well-reasoned decision on article 377 so overturning its decision on grounds of morality will be difficult. Basically, we won the first round. I am optimistic for the second. Keeping my fingers crossed.

    • “I know the team that worked on the case and I have had the opportunity to see them prepare for the case. And to see that struggle rewarded was such an amazing feeling.”
      How rewarding, how exciting to have witnessed history in the making, a milestone in democracy for India. I will be keeping my fingers crossed too and I will keep writing about it to do my little part. Thanks for your comment. I will relate it to a friend of mine, who has gay siblings. Just a few weeks ago we discussed this in a group of friends, talking about this new blog of mine and she encouraged me to keep writing about it, even if it should ruffle feathers.
      I have seen enough of this world to know that this battle cannot ever be won in the mindset of the orthodox, the fundamentalists but it can be won by the state. I have been always someone to believe in the necessity in a separation of state and religion. I have a bunch of gay friends and they are the dearest to me, close to my heart. It’s hard enough for them now here in America,

      I will keep my fingers crossed with you, the professionals who worked so hard for it and for the gay community, whose basic human rights are at stake. and I guess we need to keep talking about it, in the social media, in the press to help the cause.

  2. I agree. And I am optimistic about what the Supreme Court will say. I heard from some friends that the case is going into its final arguments soon and so the decision will be out in not too long. I don’t understand religious fundamentalists and I feel they don’t understand their own religion. That said, I am absolutely convinced of the separation of religion and state.

    I have gay friends too. I had a gay boss, a gay professor. But I recently met a guy,now a friend, who left his country because gays do not have rights in that country, who travelled to several countries before coming to France. And while talking to him I realised that his impressions about the countries he had visited or lived in, is shaped by whether he is accepted or not. And I thought to myself, Fuck, I don’t have to think of so many things when I travel. I don’t have to choose which country I will settle down in based on whether my sexual orientation poses a problem or not.

    The Lonely Planet used to have a section (probably still does) in its India guide on homosexuals and how they should not be caught holding hands, kissing etc. in public. Ok, so India is conservative about public display even for heterosexuals but when I read that section I tried putting myself in the shoes of a gay traveller and thinking that something like this could determine my choice of destination for my vacations! How sad is that?

    Still, I am optimistic about change in India. In the last 6-8 years I have seen change in India, enough to make me not lose hope in my country.

    • I publish your comment because I believe in free speech. all that comes to my mind though is A) I am a woman B) you seem to be a moron and C) and aren’t you a tad too old for young girls? young girls should go to school and not have to worry about middle-aged perverts D) revisit apostrophe rules F) leave God out of it please, because your god and mine disagree.

Leave a Reply

