Parineeti Chopra, the new It-Girl?


Parineeti Chopra
Ishaqzaade
I am always excited to watch break-out artists. Parineeti charmed us in Ladies vs Ricky Bahl, which was supposed to be the success sequel to Band Baaja Barat featuring Ranveer Singh and Anushka Sharma ,  instead everyone took notice of debutante Parineeti Chopra, lovely as a spring flower.That’s how it is in the movie industry. Absolutely unpredictable.
JUST LOOK AT THIS AWARD SHOWER:
(from wikipedia)
Ishaqzaade will give actually two young talents a chance to show what they got. Parineeti will be playing alongside Arjun Kapoor, who is having his screen debut.
Parineeti is the cousin of Priyanka Chopra, and we hope that Priyanka will be able to take time out of her busy schedule to give her little cousin some pointers.
I have high expectations for this movie, since the director Habib Faisal gave us the adorable comedy Do Dooni Char a year ago.
So everything about this movie sounds refreshingly new.
I also LOVE  the song
I am excited for both actors. I hope it will be the beginning of two great careers.
Good Luck, Girl! :-) I’ll be cheering for you.
12 thoughts on “Parineeti Chopra, the new It-Girl?

  1. Parineeti is the life of this film – its saviour, actually. If any other actress had played Zoya all the holes and glitches of narrative and execution would have made Ishaqzaade merely passably good viewing. The sheer impact of her performance and presence as Zoya had me spellbound. I’ll go so far as to say that for decades we haven’t had an actor like her in mainstream Hindi cinema. I just hope she gets good stuff to do, and doesn’t suffer the same fate as that other great recent talent, Kangna Ranaut.

      • Ishaqzaade is a bonafide hit here in India. Though YRF was planning to, they finally did not release the movie in US and UK. Perhaps the ‘badlands’ milieu and characters by and large realistically shown go against the YRF overseas brand image.

        Yes, get the DVD. It’s worth it for Parineeti’s performance alone. To be honest, I don’t think a character like Zoya can exist in the depicted environment. I know these places. She’s looks, talks and moves around like a big town spunky girl planted in an affluent feudal UP muslim joint family. Given this anomaly, it’s entirely to Parineeti’s credit that she makes Zoya a believable living, breathing, pulsating character. Some intensity this girl has.

      • now I am getting really excited as I always do when a new talent comes out of the woodworks. she had already her little moment in LvsRB. I put it on my ASAP shopping list :-) together with Gangs of Wasseypur. Can you believe it that they didn’t show that one here either in NY?

      • now I am getting really excited as I always do when a new talent comes out of the woodworks. she had already her little moment in LvsRB. I put it on my ASAP shopping list :-) together with Gangs of Wasseypur. Can you believe it that they didn’t show that one here either in NY?

        “Perhaps the ‘badlands’ milieu and characters by and large realistically shown go against the YRF overseas brand image…”

        ignorance in motion… and yeah, they can bring us such gems as Dil Bole Hadippa! And the wonders it did in terms of brand image.. haha

      • I hope you are aware that there are others in the US furiously blogging on the Hindi film industry since four or five years. The most notable is Greta of memsaabstory.com. She dwells on the 30s to 80s eras. What I like about her is that she often goes beyond reviewing to digging out the film evironment history of those times.

      • not only am I aware that there are plenty of others who are blogging about BW, but also that 99% probably are more knowledgeable and more serious than me :-) AND better writers. I love reading their blogs, since it’s one passion that unites us. The love for India, movies and music. If I may ask, which are your favorite blogs besides memsaab so i can check them out? btw, i don’t review, I write commentary. No time to write reviews and there are others who do that better. however, in the back of my mind, yeah, maybe one day…

  2. .I haven’t seen Gangs of Wasseypur yet. My friends who have, have liked the movie. This too is a ‘badlands’ story. The violence shown here is far more gruesome than in Ishaqzaade. But I think they will release it in the US shortly.

    With Ishaqzaade, YRF announced the overseas release with fanfare and then scrapped it. Sometimes I feel the marketing minds of big production houses in India aren’t bothering to explore overseas potential. Browsing around I can see that a lot of non-Indians abroad have developed a huge appetite for all things Bollywood and even South Indian cinema. Perhaps overseas exhibitors should take a cue and offer to distribute.

    Here are links to two good Hindi film blogs I discovered recently:-

    http://qalandari.blogspot.in/

    http://baradwajrangan.wordpress.com/

    Both these bloggers write meaty analysis driven stuff which is not boring and pretentious.

    If you like Hindi film music of the ‘golden’ era (40s to 60s) here’s the link to a really commendable effort. Full lyrics and embedded media for each song.

    http://atulsongaday.me/

    Send me your email address, I’ll mail more links.

    • ..I feel the marketing minds of big production houses in India aren’t bothering to explore overseas potential…

      I agree. it becomes very obvious when you look at the subtitles of almost any BW movie, haha. Aamir Khan, Srk, they pay a little bit more attention to markets abroad. you’ll see subtitles on trailers. very rarely though. Also, if they would pay any attention to the market abroad they would invest a little more effort in casting non-desi dudes :-)

      I have been convincing a lot of my friends to see Bollywood movies to a mostly positive response. Yes, there is a market here for the taking, not just NRIs. I wonder when those production houses start realizing that!

      thanks for the links!

      ciamintz@aol.com

      • Non-desi dudes :). I am sure you’ll start seeing them soon, at least in Indian movies that have a US or UK context. There are so many Indians and Pakistanis living in these countries with interesting stories of their own. In the films set in London, NY etc., you may soon see non-desi characters also playing meaty roles.

        Subtitles – sore area, this one!! I have some friends in BW. Next time I am in Mumbai I’ll take them through some blogs to make them realize the growing global popularity of Hindi cinema. Hopefully, they’ll get after the producers to improve subtitling and other things.

        Will be mailing you tonight.

Leave a Reply

