Congrats. Kashyap and Vasan Bala will have their night in Cannes!


Anurag Kashyap is one of Bollywood’s most innovative and influential filmmakers today.

So it doesn’t come at no surprise that Gangs of Wasseypur, I & II,  will be showing in Cannes this year. A great honor, indeed!  I’d like to know one thing: Did he split them up because Indian movies have a longer running time and this is a compromise? or did the movie become too long and he didn’t want to cut out important parts? or because they are two separate entities and stories altogether.. Well, we shall see ourselves. Meanwhile our best wishes to Anurag.

cannes-2012-directors-fortnight-lineup

Anurag Kashyap@ankash1009

RT @AKFPL: Three of our films; Peddlers, Gangs Of Wasseypur (I&II) at Cannes Film Festival. HUGE MOMENT OF PRIDE FOR US! @guneetm@ankash100

Vasan Bala will be presenting Peddlers at Cannes, not too shabby for a first- time director and writer!  Vasan has worked as assistant director on Dev D, second assistant director on Gulaal and associate director on Trishna. So we know he has gained some experience on those sets, but it is still quite remarkable that he will be showing his own movie in Cannes. Impressive.

I wish there was a trailer for Peddlers but I couldn’t find one. Sorry.

I am happy for our bwoys.

Come on, India! Largest producer of  films in the world, show what you’ve got!!

2 thoughts on “Congrats. Kashyap and Vasan Bala will have their night in Cannes!

  1. Great post – I am delighted to see it when Indian cinema (which I love) makes this type of crossover. Thanks for you post – very educative for me – I will keep watching with my eyes peeled!

Leave a Reply

