Rowdy Rathore or Purring Pussy Cat?


Rowdy Rathore or Purring Pussy Cat?

what’s the verdict going to be at the Box Office for this new cinematic venture? :-)

Since Akki has an established fan base, especially when it comes to action movies, people will come to see it but my gut feeling is, after watching the trailer and some of the songs,  that it might sizzle out in single screen theaters.  I hope I am wrong because I desperately want my Akshay Kumar back in high demand.

Shiva (Akshay Kumar) is a small time conman in love with Priya (Sonakshi Sinha), a pretty girl whom he met at a wedding he wasn’t invited to. Into this picture perfect world enters six year old Neha who inexplicably believes Shiva to be her dad! And if this wasn’t bad enough, Shiva also becomes the object of a series of life threatening attacks by a gang of deadly criminals who seem to know something he doesn’t. While trying desperately to save his life and love, Shiva stumbles upon a deadly secret. A secret that will take him to a small town in Bihar; a town terrorized by a ruthless politician and the mafia he controls; a town whose inhabitants only hope for redemption is …

This movie is considered Akshay’s comeback vehicle into the genre of action movies. As much as I love Akshay in action movies, I somehow worry about this one. It gives off some 80s  vibes, none of the songs I have listened to makes me want to listen to them again.  And I can’t figure out if this is going to be a comedy or an action movie. A parody of an action movie or the real thing. But hey, why bury it before its release? It could be a surprise hit! I wish it for him and the rest of the crew!

We shall see. Meanwhile I am happy to have Akshay back in action. I just love watching him, he can bring to life mummies with his killer smile.

I loved him in Desi Boyz and that was a great comeback for him already.

Just keep the man working, Bollywood! :-) We love the guy.

One thought on “Rowdy Rathore or Purring Pussy Cat?

  1. You have to consider the Director of ROWDY RATHORE, Prabhu Deva, when trying to figure out its appeal and genre. Its a Masala Entertainer, a Novelty film that calls back all the popular genres of the day, with some added new mixes. From that perspective, its very high on my list of films to watch. Keep in mind that THE DIRTY PICTURE also touted itself as a parody in it’s marketing, but ended up being a pretty dramatic film.

    ROWDY RATHORE seems to be in the same stable as Deva’s first release, WANTED. Something for all. However, WANTED did feature some pretty good storytelling, amidst the cheesy lines, cringe-worthy scenes and irritating songs.

    I realize I’m cheating by commenting AFTER the movie has been released, considering how well it’s doing… but I haven’t seen it yet. And I’ve always maintained that box-office success doesn’t always equate to being a ‘good’ film. You gotta wait for my Review for that. (shameless self plug inserted quote smoothly, if I do say so myself. ;) )

Leave a Reply

