Get out the champagne. We got a title: Jab Tak Hai Jaan.


found in Times of India

Shahrukh’s and Katrina Kaif’s new movie was christened, or rather hindustanied. I thought it took so long because Yash Chopra is getting up in age and might have lost the notebook where he scribbled  “Find a title to the new movie I wrote and directed, nah, what was his name? Shahrukh. Yeah, Shahrukh and this beautiful girl. wait, her name is on my tongue…”

But no, I was told by my stern critic and blogfrenemy Shahid Shah (who keeps poking needles into my Achilles)  that it’s one of Yash’s old marketing gimmicks and dates back to Veer Zaara. Needless to say, I am glad it wasn’t Alzheimers responsible for the delay.  Now all I need is have someone translate the title…(maybe: Until I find a lover??)

Looking fwd to Jab Tak Hai Jaan.

 

3 thoughts on “Get out the champagne. We got a title: Jab Tak Hai Jaan.

  1. Thanks for the shout out. I like that… ‘blogfrenemy’. ;)

    Translation of the Title: “Up Until I Have My Life” However, ‘Jaan’ refers to ‘Life’ or a pet name for one’s lover. So the title is double meaning that way.

    Most likely though, it’s from a song title from the all time classic, SHOLAY.

    It’s a famous scene too, where Hema Malini’s character is forced to dance for a captured Dharmendra’s charter. A scene that’s mimicked in Salman’s “Character Dheela” music video.

    And that’s your Bollywood history lesson of the day.

    • “And that’s your Bollywood history lesson of the day.” OMG what would I do without you? haha.

      but seriously, I always appreciate your comments, I am always learning something new. so yeah, thx :-)

      re translation, i figured it’s that what it means. I love Sholay, even though it’s “modeled” after Sergio Leone’s Spaghetti Westerns. But Amitabh is great and the songs too.

      • I”m here to teach. Well not really… but —

        I’m impressed you know who Sergio Leone is. FYI, Leone ‘modeled’ his MAGNIFICENT SEVEN films, after the film of Asian Director Kurosawa’s THE SEVEN SAMURAI. It’s a great example of international ‘inspirations’ that can work and which don’t need to be a ‘copy’ or ‘rip-off’. Asia – Hollywood – India. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

