Dabangg 2, coming with a big bang or leaving through the wormhole?


As a general rule, I don’t like sequels. I just don’t. With the exception of James Bond maybe. On the other hand it always makes me happy when somebody scores a blockbuster in Bollyland and ultimately that’s more important than if I like or don’t like a movie. It feeds a lot of people, creates excitement in the industry and the cash flowing.  I was happy when Salman had a big bang comeback with Wanted. Because I WANTED him to succeed. ( btw,  I enjoyed Wanted more than Dabangg but all the  talking about a #3 when the verdict on #2 isn’t even out yet, for some reason makes me weary).

Trailer of the first one rocked:

So I checked out the soundtrack to see if it gives any indication of what’s to come and neither trailer nor soundtrack left me tingling with anticipation. All very deja-vu. Perhaps I should get hypnotized before the movie to erase all recollection of former Salman heroes and kahanis to sit through it open-minded.

Well, Dagabaaz is a pretty song and Sonakshi is such eye-candy. Hard to resist her.

Sorry, but sequels are for the lazies. Unless there is a progression of a character or something terribly interesting you were waiting for at the end of number 1, then just progress to greener pastures.  As always though,  I hope I will be positively surprised, the miracle of a fabulous sequel which leaves me yearning for more.

Thankfully for the film industry I am not indicative. Just look at the success of the Twilight series (which I ditched after #2), or the Pirates of the Caribbean, (which I also ditched after #2), but if the Godfather can’t pull it off then I doubt anybody can. I am just tired of being sent to watch rehashes. but maybe I am just tired because it’s 2 am. Tomorrow I will have to rewrite the whole blog. With a more positive spin.

Let’s see what the reviews will be like and the audiences’ reaction and see the glass half full instead of 2 am empty.

 

Okay, now that I am awake, just to clarify, I don’t want to diss Salman bhai’s movie beforehand, because the guy is larger than life and I love his little chutzpah smile. What would Bollywood be without him! Unthinkable! So my sequel phobia won’t overrule my love for Salman Khan. If he wants to hit us with one, two or three banggs won’t matter all that much. He is Bollywood’s heartbeat and should keep on ticking.

 

 

Leave a Reply

