Real-life Bollywood love triangles: prem kahanis gone south, kismet.


Happily (N)ever After. For some…

Bollywood actors are writing the best but  sometimes also the saddest love stories themselves.

Amitabh, Jaya and Rekha.

A prem kahani anthology of Bollywood actors is long overdue. Just off my mind, there is dashing young Amitabh Bachchan, Jaya and Rekha… Jaya won. Happily married. Two kids and a couple of grandchildren later, they will not even remember what all the emotional fuzz was about…. Rekha, on the other hand, probably will.

Mahesh Bhatt, Lorraine Bright and Parveen Babi.

googled image. khauf.com

Bhatt opened up about his tragic love story in a revealing interview  in 2006:

…….”Nostalgia is pain. The day Parveen died, I realised that despite the claims I made to myself, her memory had not withered within me with the passage of time.”

Talking about her illness he said: “Praveen’s breakdown is an old story. But I wonder if anyone could imagine what it is like to live with a person who is going mad.

“The morning I left Parveen’s house before it all began comes back to haunt me. She was off to her shoot for Prakash Mehra’s film… and she kissed me good-bye. Little did I know that it was the last time I would see her as the Parveen that I knew.

“How can I ever forget that heartbreaking image of her, when I walked in to the house that evening, and found Parveen, in make up and a filmy costume, cowering in a corner, with a knife in her hand, shivering with fear?

“She looked like an animal, one that I had never seen before. ‘Close the door Mahesh,’ she whispered. ‘They are coming to kill us. Close the door quickly!’

“And with those words ended my days of love and splendour, sin and passion with Parveen. I was looking into the eyes of madness and the face of death. Because the person that I knew had died, and with that our relationship, as we had known it, died too.”

read more here: interview with mahesh bhatt on santabanta.com

Obviously, this was too great of a burden for his relationship with wife Lorraine.
Guru Dutt, Geeta  and Waheeda Rehman

Kaagaz Ke Phool (1959) starring, Guru Dutt, Waheeda Rehman, singer Geeta Dutt

Pyaasa (1957) starring Guru Dutt,  Waheeda Rehman, singer: Geeta

This love triangle turned deadly for the extraordinary filmmaker and actor Guru Dutt, who died of an overdose or suicide at age 39. His wife Geeta died a few years later at age 41.

Waheeda prevailed, she got out of this unhappy relationship unscathed, it seems and married later on, had two children. She remains the grand dame of Indian film until today, beautiful as ever.

WaheedaRehman

Dev Anand, the romantic hero of the 40s and 50s, his romance with Suraiya, his marriage to Kalpana.

Not so much a love triangle because I believe that his relationship with Suraiya had ended before he fell in love with the equally ravishing Kalpana.  This story ended bad for Suraiya, as she was Muslim and her grandmother would not allow her to get married to a Hindu. A secret on-set wedding was planned, but Suraiya got cold feet. The relationship broke and the beautiful actress tragically made good on her promise to then never get married. Dev and Kalpana on the other hand seemed to have built a wonderful life together until death parted them in 2011 when Dev passed away.

Dev and Kalpana, Nau Do Gyrah,1957

Dev and Suraiya, Shair, 1949

Yeah. Love is a powerful drug. Anything is fair in love and war. Isn’t that the saying?

Leave a comment